Akitio Webcam


Palmerston North



Hotel Booking with Ezibed

Find us on facebook click here

Let's make this a great weekend........

L to R back Frank Lys, John Ellingham, Quentin Hooper-Smith, Eion Poole, Richard Brown,
Bruce Hooper-Smith, Barry Scott, Front, Lindy & Andrew Thompson

Waitahora Cricket Club reunion committee have had many meetings to put the 50th Anniversary together.
Many hours of finding the addresses and contacts have been undertaken. A few players have been misplaced or moved on with no forwarding details. We have had great success containg over seas players. Some have notified they are coming.

If you have played for Waitahora Cricket Club and have not been contacted PLEASE contact our secretary Lindy Thompson, 37 Christian Street, Dannevirke 4930 or Phone 06 374 8650.

We are looking forward to a great weekend which begins with the Meet and Mingle at the Dannevirke Services and Citizens Club at 5.30 pm on the 3rd Feb. 2012. The Waitahora Cricket Club grounds will be groomed in time for the 6 aside games  --- age NO barrier. After which we will retire to the Waitahora Golf Club house for more stories of the past.A cash bar will be available which will be staffed .. and we will have a BBQ tea cooks provided..so there are no excuses not to be at this evening.

Sunday the Dannevirke Golf Club will be available for a hit and giggle.

Let's make this a great weekend.


Half a century is a pretty good score in cricketing terms, and this year marks the Waitahora Cricket Club’s 50th anniversary.
Barry Scott and Frank Lys, two of a committee of 10, are busy making arrangements for a memorable weekend to mark the occasion, to be held in February next year.

Frank is an ex-vice-captain and his name appears on the ‘Best Batsman’ cup. “However”, says Frank, “after so many years, my playing days are over. If I was at the crease now, by the time I got my bat up the ball would be with the wicket-keeper”.

News of the anniversary is spreading and some ex-Club members, now living overseas, will be there.

Before 1961 local players met to hold a Sunday social cricketing get-together and as enthusiasm and aptitude grew it was decided, in October of that year, to formally establish the Club. Thanks to many talented players the Waitahora Cricket Club, with Sir Keith Holyoake as Patron, became one of 8 well respected Dannevirke teams, playing throughout the area.

Friday February 3 2012 is the date to mark in the calendar. The celebrations start that night with a meeting at the Dannevirke Services and Citizens Club. The following afternoon club members will break out pads, bats and balls hoping to play many 6-aside games at Waitahora Cricket Club, starting at 1.00 pm. These will be followed by a restorative barbecue and a few cold ones at the Waitahora ex-Golf House, now the Community Building,

And there is more – on Sunday 5 February everyone attending will be invited to take part in a golf game, to be held at the Dannevirke Golf Club – handicaps will be taken into account.

The 50th anniversary of the Waitahora Cricket Club will be a weekend to remember, and anyone who is interested in attending can call Andrew or Lindy on 06 374 8650, or email the secretary, Lindy on waitahoracc@gmail.com.

click here to download   REGISTRATION FORM  -  fill out and post to address which is on form.
                                                   Registrations have been extended 

Itinerary -

Friday 3rd  5.30pm     Meet and Mingle @ Dannevirke Club, Queen Street
                                Bar available  supper provided

Saturday 4th  1pm     Six a side cricket games  @ Waitahora Cricket Club after                               
                                games  -   BBQ and drinks at the Waitahora Community Centre  (WGC)

Sunday  5th  1pm      Golf at Dannevirke Golf Club
                                Please advise those wishing to participate in the golf.  

Taking a run back through time......

                              Waitahora Cricket Club 1964 - 65

Waitahora Cricket Club 1964-65 Winners Licenced Victuallers Cup, Runners-Up Hunter Shield

                                Waitahora Cricket Club 1966 - 67

Waitahora Cricket Club 1966-67  Runners-Up Hynter Shield, Winners of Culling Cup

                               Waitahora Cricket Club 1970 -71


                                 Waitahora Cricket Club 1973 -74

                        Keep watching for new team photos each week


         Registration List

Ian McGibbon
Hamish & Nicola Campbell
Mike Rittson-Thomas & Caroline Green
Graeme & Gena Brockelsby
Stuart Brannigan
Stuart Brown
Eion & Lynne Poole
James Hooper-Smith & Katherina.
John Smith
Andrew Campbell
Richard & Marie Brown
Barry & Jillian Scott
Peter Sandford
Dot & Quentin Hooper-Smith
Kevin & Maureen Martin
Chris Barker
Dennis Moaka
Roy & Elaine Clements
Frank & Helen Lys
Lil Tickner
Steve Tickner
Jerry Barker
Cyril & Amy Goss
Ted & Tanya Codd
Win & Maureen Jones
Gordon & Sarah Kuggeleijn
Ray Perry
Stuart & Alice Fraser
John Law
Lou & Heather Elsmore
Dulcie Tickner
Andrew Smith
Mark & Annabel Franklin
Glyn Rees-Jones
Geoff & Colleen Martin
John & Jane Ellingham
Kevin & Michelle White
Hamish McGibbon
Jim McNicol
Rodger Hays
Peter McDonald
Errol & Myra Hantz
Andrew & Lindy Thompson
Bruce Hooper-Smith & Toni
John Turner (Tonka)
Neil and Liz Murley
John Buchanan
Hugh & Sue Bowles
Grant & Brenda Massie
James Walker
Alan & Jane Brown
Nigel Jackson
Mal McLennan
Jerome Pitt
Nai August & Tui
Roger Watts
James Hunter